Works Film Music

“Pirogov”. Music to the Film

Opus 74 Opus 77

Opus 76
1947 year

“Pirogov”. Op. 76. “Michurin”. Op. 78
premiere:

16-December-1947

“Mosfilm” studios. Scriptwriter: Y. German. Director: G. Kozintsev

first publication:

New Collected Works, DSCH Publishers. Vol. 132.

manuscripts:

Separate pieces in the RNMM (Stack 32, Item 289) and in the Leningrad State Archive for Literature and Art (Stack 257, Inv. 16, Item 2129).


   The film Pirogov was made at the Lenfilm studio in 1947 by director Grigori Kozintsev1 based on Yuri German’s script. The film explores the life and activity of Nikolay Ivanovich Pirogov (1810-1881), a surgeon, scientist, pioneer of Russian military field surgery and founder of the Russian school of anaesthetics.

Dmitri Shostakovich’s Music to the Film PIROGOV

   The making of Pirogov has a long history. Yuri German’s script “Doctor Pirogov” was submitted in 1941. At the end of May, Grigori Kozintsev and Leonid Trauberg began writing a directors’ script entitled The Great Doctor, carried out auditions, approved the actors and found a place to film the Siege of Sevastopol in Crimea and Odessa. On 2 June, the film was launched, rehearsals began, and filming was supposed to start. However, the work was interrupted by the war, and Kozintsev did not return to it until 1946.
   Pirogov was launched on 20 August 1946,11 and on 4 September the All-Union Communist Party(Bolsheviks) Central Committee Resolution on cinematography came out, from which practical conclusions were very soon made: the film Simple People mentioned in the resolution was put on the shelf, and work on the film Pirogov, which had just begun, was halted under the excuse that new changes had to be made to the script and was not revived until March 1947.
   No documental evidence has been found of Kozintsev inviting Shostakovich to write music for Pirogov, but the composer was most likely aware of the chance to get this work when it was revived after the war, because his name figured in the estimate of the production costs. On 15 August 1947, while in Leningrad, he signed a contract for writing the music.
   On 3 November 1947, the music for Pirogov was recorded at the Lenfilm sound studio conducted by Nikolay Rabinovich, who had been working regularly with Kozintsev and Shostakovich since 1929. Shostakovich attended the recording session and took active part in it, writing out the bells part for the performer on the spot, after evidently hearing the need for it in the live performance of the orchestra. This unforeseen holograph was most likely used as it was during the sound recording and the huge amount of orchestral material played during the recording still includes this modest half page of music.
   The film was approved by the art council of Lenfilm on 24 November 1947, whereby almost all those who spoke placed particular emphasis on the role Shostakovich’s music played in the success of the film.
   Pirogov was released on 16 December 1947. In 1948, it was awarded the Stalin Prize, and at the International Festival in Mariánské Lázně (Czechoslovakia), Andrey Moskvin, the film’s cameraman, received an honourable diploma.

   Only the Overture is named as such in the author’s manuscript of the score, while the other music episodes are given sequential numbers from No. 1 to No. 9. A look at the soundtrack shows that all the music in the score was used in the film.
   The music for Pirogov began to acquire an independent concert life very early. This primarily applies to the waltz, which even during the recording of the soundtrack made a great impression on those present. In November, even before the film was released, the Leningrad branch of Muzfond included the score of the “Waltz” and the “Polka” from Pirogov in their collotype publication plan. After that, beginning in 1948, Muzfond repeatedly put out the “Waltz”, and it was also published by Sovetsky Kompozitor Publishers and by Muzgiz (mainly in Levon Atovmyan’s piano arrangement, as well as in the arrangement for a stage band).
   The first gramophone recording of the “Waltz” was done in 1949 by the All-Union Radio Orchestra under the baton of Viktor Knushevitsky.
   Levon Atovmyan compiled an orchestral suite in five movements from the film music for Pirogov. The precise time it was compiled is not known.
   Several recordings of the Suite were made. The first of them might have been done in 1966 by the Bolshoi Theatre orchestra under the baton of Maxim Shostakovich.


back

Years


1947

more

Сочинения Киномузыка

«Пирогов». Музыка к кинофильму

Opus 74 Opus 77

Opus 76
1947 год

«Пирогов». Соч. 76. «Мичурин». Соч. 78
премьера:

16-декабря-1947

Киностудия «Мосфильм». Автор сценария Ю. Герман. Режиссер-постановщик Г. Козинцев

первое издание:

Новое собрание сочинений, DSCH, Т. 132.

рукописи:

Отдельные номера — РНММ (ф. 32, ед. хр. 289), ЛГАЛИ (ф. 257, оп. 16, ед. хр. 2129).


   Художественный фильм «Пирогов» снят на киностудии «Ленфильм» в 1947 году режиссёром Г. М. Козинцевым по сценарию Ю. П. Германа. Фильм посвящён жизни и деятельности Николая Ивановича Пирогова (1810–1881), хирурга, учёного, основоположника русской военно-полевой хирургии, основателя русской школы анестезии.

Музыка Д. Д. Шостаковича к кинофильму «Пирогов»   

   История создания кинокартины «Пирогов» растянулась на долгие годы. Литературный сценарий Ю. П. Германа «Лекарь Пирогов» был представлен в 1941 году. В конце мая Г. М. Козинцев и Л. З. Трауберг начали писать режиссёрский сценарий «Великий лекарь», провели пробы и утвердили актёров, нашли места для съёмок Севастопольской обороны в Крыму и Одессе; 2 июня фильм был запущен в производство, начались репетиции и должны были начаться съёмки. Работу прервала война, и к этому замыслу Козинцев вернулся лишь в 1946 году.
   «Пирогов» был запущен в производство 20 августа 1946 года, 4 сентября вышло Постановление ЦК ВКП(б) о кинематографии, из которого очень скоро были сделаны практические выводы: упомянутый в постановлении кинофильм «Простые люди» был положен на полку, а работы по только что начатой картине «Пирогов» были приостановлены под предлогом новых переделок сценария и возобновились только в марте 1947 года.
   Документальных свидетельств об обращении Козинцева к Шостаковичу с приглашением написать музыку к «Пирогову» не обнаружено, но композитор наверняка знал о перспективе этой работы с её начала-возобновления после войны, поскольку его имя фигурирует в смете расходов на производство.
   15 августа 1947 года Шостакович, находясь в Ленинграде, заключил договор на написание музыки.
   3 ноября 1947 года в тонстудии «Ленфильма» состоялась звукозапись музыки «Пирогова» (дирижёр — Н. С. Рабинович, постоянный сотрудник Козинцева и Шостаковича с 1929 года). Шостакович присутствовал на записи и принял в ней активное участие, собственноручно написав для исполнителя партию колоколов — в живых звуках оркестра он, по-видимому, услышал её необходимость. Этот неожиданный автограф так, вероятно, и использовался во время звукозаписи и остался скромной половинкой нотной страницы среди гигантского оркестрового материала, участвовавшего в записи.
   Фильм был принят на художественном совете «Ленфильма» 24 ноября 1947 года, причём почти все выступавшие особенно выделяли роль музыки Шостаковича в успехе картины.
   16 декабря 1947 кинофильм «Пирогов» вышел на экраны. В 1948 году он был награждён Сталинской премией,  а на Международном фестивале в Марианских Лазнях (Чехословакия) — почётным дипломом оператору фильма А. Н. Москвину.

   В автографе партитуры Шостаковичем озаглавлена только Увертюра, на остальных эпизодах музыки проставлены лишь порядковые номера от № 1 до № 9. Сравнение с фонограммой показывает, что вся музыка, имеющаяся в партитуре, вошла в фильм полностью.
   Музыка «Пирогова» начала обретать самостоятельную концертную жизнь очень рано. В первую очередь это относится к Вальсу, который ещё во время звукозаписи фонограммы произвёл на присутствующих большое впечатление, после чего уже в ноябре, до выхода фильма на экраны, Ленинградское отделение Музфонда включило в план своих стеклографических изданий на 1948 год партитуру Вальса и Польки из кинофильма «Пирогов». С тех пор, начиная с 1948 года Вальс неоднократно печатался в Музфонде, издавался в «Советском композиторе» и Музгизе (в основном — в фортепианном переложении Л. Т. Атовмьяна, а также в аранжировке для эстрадного оркестра). Первая грамзапись Вальса была сделана в 1949 году оркестром Всесоюзного радио под управлением В. Н. Кнушевицкого.
   Л. Т. Атовмьян составил оркестровую Сюиту из музыки к кинофильму «Пирогов» в пяти частях, точное время её составления не установлено.
   Несколько раз производилась грамзапись Сюиты. Возможно, первая из них была сделана в 1966 году оркестром Большого театра под управлением М. Д. Шостаковича.


записи:

Мелодия, D020135-6 (моно) и С01471-2


назад

Годы жизни