Works Orchestral Compositions

Five Fragments for Orchestra

Opus SO Opus 43

Opus 42
1935 year

Orchestral Compositions of Different Years. Scores.


Leningrad. Symphonic Orchestra of the Leningrad State Philharmonia. Conductor I. Blazhkov.

first publication:

1979, Hans Sikorski, Hamburg, Partitur und Stimmen. 1984, D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Volume 10, Moscow.


Hand-written score in the RNMM (Stack 32, Item 71).

Five Fragments for Orchestra

     This cycle of concise pieces waswritten in one day—on 9 June 1935.
     The premiere was conducted by Igor Blazhkov on 26 April 1965, thirty years after Five Fragments was written, in the Grand Hall of the Leningrad Philharmonic, which the composer did not attend due to illness.
     The first public performance of Five Fragments in 1965 came well in advance of the publication of this work. It was published only in 1984 by Muzyka Publishers in D. Shostakovich, Collected Works (Vol. 10).
     The European premiere was held on 24 May 1977 in London by the Kensington Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Lesley Head in the St John’s Smith Square concert hall.
     The manuscript of the score is kept in the Russian National Museum of music.