New Collected Works Chamber Instrumental Ensembles

Trio No 1. Op. 8. Trio No 2. Op. 67.

Volume 98

Trio No. 1 for Violin, Cello and Piano. Op. 8.
Trio No. 2 for Violin, Cello and Piano. Op. 67.
Score and parts.
Edited by Olga Kuzina. Editor-in-Chief Manashir Iakubov. Explanatory article by Manashir Iakubov.

Download example:

Dedicated to Tatyana Ivanovna Glivenko
Trio No. 1
For Violin, Cello and Piano. Op. 8.

  The author’s manuscript of the score of Trio No. 1, Op. 8 has not survived in full, the pages containing bars 257-278 are missing. What is more, the following author’s documents have survived: rough score, containing the first 130 bars of the work; a version of the violin part, in which pages containing bars 162-252 are missing; the second, full version of the violin part; and the cello part.
  For the first edition of Trio (D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol. 37, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1983), composer Boris Ivanovich Tishchenko finished writing the missing bars of the piano part and edited the score as a whole. In so doing, the bowings and dynamic inflections missing in author’s manuscript were introduced into the score of the author’s manuscripts of the violin and cello parts. The discrepancies between author’s manuscript and the string parts are reflected either in the score in the form of different versions of the bowings, or in the comments.
  Some unclear places in author’s manuscript were clarified with the help of rough score. All the versions and additions proposed by the editor (Boris Tishchenko) are enclosed in square brackets. Obvious slips of the pen and other errors in author’s manuscript have been corrected without additional explanation.
  This publication adheres to the text of the first edition. Boris Tishchenko’s notes are also used in the comments (Collected Works, Vol. 37, pp. 210-211).

In Memory of Ivan Ivanovich Sollertinsky
Trio No. 2
For Violin, Cello and Piano. Op. 67.

  Trio No. 2, Op. 67 was published for the first time by the Muzgiz Publishers in 1945. At the same time, VOKS (All-Union Society of Cultural Ties) printed it from the same moulds. It was republished several times. In Vol. 37 of Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow,1983), Trio was published under the editorship of D. Tsyganov, who made several changes and additions to the edition, which were incorporated into the V-no and V-c. parts, with the composer’s consent, during the rehearsals and joint performances of Trio, beginning with its premiere. But Shostakovich did not incorporate these changes and clarifications either into the author’s manuscript of the score, or into the first edition of Trio, or into the subsequent lifetime editions, obviously considering them to be an individual performance version of this particular cast of musicians.
  In the meantime, the composer made changes to the author’s manuscript, in particular in black ink (Indian ink), even after the 1945 edition was published. We know this because the changes in black ink are not reflected in this edition, but can be found in later publications.
  This publication is based on the author’s manuscript of the score (RSALA, rec. gr. 2048, inv. 1, f. 28). The lifetime 1945, 1962, and 1968 editions, in which the author participated, the 1983 edition mentioned above, and a copy of the 1962 edition of Trio (Sovetsky kompozitor Publishers, Moscow) with the composer’s own corrections, kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archives, are also taken into account.