New Collected Works Compositions for Choir and Orchestra (with or without soloists)

“The Execution of Stepan Razin”. Op. 119. Cantata. Score.

Volume 81

Cantata for bass soloist, mixed choir and orchestra. Op. 119.
Edited by Sergei Chebotaryov. Explanatory article by Svetlana Lashchenko. Editor-in-chief Victor Ekimovsky.

Download example:


Cantata for bass soloist, mixed chorus and orchestra (with 2 harps and piano), to the text of a narrative poem by Yevgeni Yevtushenko, taken from the series The Bratsk Hydro-electric Power Station.

Moderato non troppo—Andante—Adagio—Moderato—Adagio—Moderato


Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, Cor anglais, E flat Clarinet, 2 Clarinets (B flat and A), Bass Clarinet, 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon
4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba
Timpani, Triangle, Tambourine, Side drum, Whip, Cymbals, Bass drum, Gong
Orchestral bells, Xylophone, Celesta,
min. 2 Harps, Piano
Bass soloist
S.A.T.B. Chorus
1st Violins (20), 2nd Violins (18), Violas (16), Cellos (14), and five-string Double-basses (12)


Begun on 8 July 1964 and completed on 14 September.


Approx. 30 min.

  This publication is based on the edition of the score (D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol. 29, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1983), collated with the author’s fair manuscript of the full score (RSALA, 2048, inv. 3, f. 14), the fair manuscript of the piano score (RSALA, 2048, inv. 3, f. 13), and the first edition of the score (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1966).
  The enharmonic discrepancies between the piano score and the full score in both author’s manuscripts are left unchanged.