New Collected Works Compositions for Choir and Orchestra (with or without soloists)

“The Song of the Forests”. Op. 81. Oratorio. Score.

Volume 73

Oratorio for Tenor, Bass, boys’ choir, mixed choir and symphony orchestra. Op. 81.
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky Explanatory article by Marina Raku.

Download example:


Oratorio for Tenor, Bass, boys’ choir, mixed choir and symphony orchestra (with 2 harps and additional brass) to the text by Yevgeni Dolmatovsky:

  1. When the war was over—Andante (Bass and A.T.B.)
  2. Clothe the homeland in forests — Allegro (S.A.T.B.)
  3. Recollection of the past—Adagio (Bass and S.A.T.B.) attacca
  4. Pioneers plant the forests—Allegretto (boys) attacca
  5. Young Communists go forward—Allegro con brio (S.A.T.B.)
  6. A walk into the future—Adagio (Tenor and S.A.T.B.)
  7. Glory—Allegro non troppo (Tenor, Bass, boys, and S.A.T.B.)


3 Flutes (III = Piccolo), 2 Oboes, Cor anglais, 3 Clarinets (B flat and A), 2 Bassoons
4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba
additional 6 Trumpets and 6 Trombones in No. 7
Timpani, Triangle, Side drum, Cymbals
Glockenspiel, 2 Harps
Tenor and Bass soloists, boys’ choir, S.A.T.B. chorus


Summer 1949 and completed on 15 August 1949, at Komarovo village, Gulf of Finland.


Approx. 33 minutes in score.

  This publication is based on the edition: D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, in 42 vols., Vol. 29, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1983, collated with the author’s manuscript of the score stored at RSALA—rec. gr. 653, inv. 3, f. 11 and the author’s manuscript of the piano score stored at VMOMK—rec. gr. 32, f. 122.
  There are three versions of Yevgeni Dolmatovsky’s text: the first in the author’s manuscript, the second in the first edition (Muzgiz Publishers, Moscow, 1950) and the third—in the 1962 edition (Muzgiz, Moscow).
   The discrepancies apply to items 1, 5, 7. Printed in accordance with the last, third version.