New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No. 7. Op. 60. Score.

Volume 7

Symphony for large orchestra (with additional brass, 2 harps, and a piano) in four movements.
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory Article by Manashir Iakubov.

Download example:


Symphony, universally known as ‘The Leningrad Symphony’, for large
orchestra (with additional brass, 2 harps, and a piano) in four movements—
here given the initial descriptive titles later dropped by the composer:

1. Allegretto—‘War’
2. Moderato (poco allegretto)—‘Memories’
3. Adagio—‘Native Expanses’ or ‘My Native Fields’ attacca
4. Allegro non troppo—‘Victory’


Piccolo (= Flute III), 2 Flutes (II = Alto flute), 2 Oboes, Cor Anglais, E flat Clarinet (= Clarinet III B flat and A), 2 Clarinets (B flat and A), Bass Clarinet, 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon

8 Horns, 6 Trumpets, 6 Trombones, Tuba

Timpani (5 drums), Triangle, Tambourine, Side drum, Cymbals, Bass drum, Gong

Xylophone, 2 Harps, Piano

1st Violins (16–20), 2nd Violins (16–18), Violas (12–16), Cellos (10–14), Double-basses (8–12).

It is desirable to have 2 Side drums from fig. 39 and, if possible, 3 Side drums from fig. 45 to 11th bar after fig. 51 in the first movement. The additional group of Brass (3 Trumpets, 4 Horns, and 3 Trombones) is required in first, third, and fourth movements; Harps in second and third; Piano in first, second, and fourth movements.


19 July–27 December 1941. The first three movements composed in besieged Leningrad; first finished on 3 September, second written in 14 days, and third completed in 12 days on 29 September; fourth movement completed at Kuibyshev (reverted to its pre-revolutionary name of Samara in autumn 1991).


Approx. 80 min.


‘To my native city, Leningrad’.

When preparing this volume, we used the lifetime editions of the symphony, the facsimile edition of the author’s manuscript of the score (D. Shostakovich, Symphony #7 “Leningrad”, Op. 60: Facsimile Edition of the Manuscript with a Commentary by Manashir Yakubov, Zen-on Music Company Limited, Tokyo, 1992.), and the edition of the score in Vol. 4 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1981), in which the author’s corrections in the hand-written copy of the symphony and the author’s notes on the proof-read sheets were taken into account.