New Collected Works Compositions for the Stage

The Bolt. Op. 27. Ballet. Score. (In three volumes.)

Volume 62

Ballet in Three Acts and Seven Scenes. Libretto by Victor Smirnov. Op. 27. Published for the first time. Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory article by Manashir Iakubov, Olesya Bobrik.

Download example:


Ballet in three acts and seven scenes, with libretto by Victor Smirnov, scenery and costumes by Tatyana Bruni and Georgi Korshikov, and choreography by Fyodor Lopukhov.


Piccolo, 2 Flauti (Flauto II = Piccolo II), 2 Oboi, Corno inglese, Clarinetto piccolo (Es) = Clarinetto basso (B), 2 Clarinetti (B), 2 Sassofoni soprani (B), 2 Fagotti, Contrafagotto (= Fagotto III)
6 Corni (F), 3 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Legno, Tamburino, Tamburo, Piatti, Cassa, Tam-tam
Campanelli, Silofono, Campana (cis)
2 Arpe, Piano
BANDA: Cornetto piccolo (Es), 2 Cornetti (B), 2 Trombe (B), 2 Alti (Es), 2 Tenori (B), 2 Baritoni (B), 2 Bassi
Violini I, Violini II, Viole, Violoncelli, Contrabassi


1930-1931 at Leningrad


Complete score approx. 2 hrs. 45 min.

  This publication is based on the author’s manuscript kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive—rec. gr. 2, section 1, f. 228, 229, 230, 231—and a hand-written non-author’s copy, which was unquestionably edited by the author (it is kept at the Hire Department of DSCH Publishers). There are different kinds of marks, corrections and additions (relating to bowings, dynamic signs, and so on) in manuscript done both by the author and by an unknown editor (all the differences between manuscript and non-author's copy are specified in comments). When necessary, reference is also made to the piano score published by DSCH Publishers in 1995.
  In manuscript, the rehearsal numbers are given independently for each number. In non-author’s copy, the rehearsal numbers are given continuously throughout the ballet, which is also reproduced in this edition.
  Most of the repeated fragments in manuscript are designated with repeat signs. All the repeats have been opened in this edition. This has caused changes in some of the author’s score figures in Nos. 7, 9, 11, 13, 21, 24, 25, 28, 29, 37, 40, 42, and 43.
 In the author’s manuscript of the score, the Trombe parts are arranged higher than the Corni parts. Printed in accordance with non-author’s copy.