New Collected Works Compositions for the Stage

Katerina Izmailova. Op. 29/114. Opera. Score. (In two volumes.)

Volume 58

Libretto by Alexander Preys and Dmitri Shostakovich based on the novel-sketch by Nikolai Leskov 'Lady Macbeth of the Mtsensk District' Op. 29/114. Version of 1963 year.
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory article by Svetlana Lashchenko.

Download example:


Revised version of the four-act opera Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk District, Opus 29. New symphonic interludes between Scenes 1 and 2 and Scenes 7 and 8, changes made in Scene 3, minor revisions to the vocal lines, and the eradication of the cruder passages of the libretto (undertaken by Isaak Glikman at the request of the composer in March–April 1955).


Piccolo, 2 Flauti (II = Piccolo II, Flauto, contralto—G), 2 Oboe, Corno inglese (F), Clarinetto piccolo (Es), 2 Clarinetti (B, A), Clarinetto basso (B), 2 Fagotti, Contrafagotto
4 Corni (F), 3 Trombe (B), 3 Tromboni, Tuba
Timpani, Triangolo, Legno, Tamburino, Tamburo, Piatti, Cassa, Tam-tam
Campanelli, Silofono, Campane, Celesta, 2 Arpe
2 Cornetti piccoli (Es), 2 Cornetti (B), 2 Trombe (B), 2 Alti (Es), 2 Tenori (B), 2 Baritoni (B), 2 Bassi
Violini I (16–18), Violini II (14–16), Viole (12–14), Violoncelli (12–14), Contrabassi (10–12)


March 1955–31 January 1963. Revisions to the four acts completed on 24 December 1962; 9, 24, and 31 January 1963 respectively. Some changes introduced into the score after the première.

  This publication is based on the edition of the score (D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vols. 20, 21, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1985), collated with the author’s manuscript kept in RSALA (rec. gr. 2048, inv. 3, f. 17-20). If necessary, the piano score of the opera is referred to (D. Shostakovich, Collected Works, Vol. 22, Moscow, 1985).