New Collected Works Instrumental Concertos

Violin Concerto No 2. Op. 129. Score.

Volume 44

Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory article by Manashir Iakubov.

Download example:

Concerto for violin and orchestra (with no brass other than 4 horns) in three movements:

  1. Moderato—Allegretto
  2. Adagio attacca
  3. Adagio—Allegro

Piccolo, Flute, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets (A and B flat), 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon
4 French horns (F)
Timpani, Tom-tom
1st violins (16), 2nd violins (14), violas (12), cellos (12), double-basses (10).

May 1967, at Moscow and Repino; completed on 18 May 1967.

David Fyodorovich Oistrakh.

Approx. 30 min.

  The author’s manuscript of the score of the Second Violin Concerto, Op. 129, is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive.
  The score of the Concerto was published by Sikorski Publishers in 1967, by Sovetsky compozitor Publishers in 1970, and by Muzyka Publishers in 1981 as part of 14th volume of Shostakovich’s Collected Works.
  This  publication is based on the lifetime edition of the score which has been collated with the author’s manuscript.
   1981 edition of Muzyka Publishers was also used, since when preparing this edition, editor of the volume A. Nikolayev took into account the author’s  corrections in the handwritten copy of the score.
  When necessary, the piano score editions of 1969 and 1976 (both published by Sovetsky compozitor Publishers), as well as the author’s manuscript of the piano score, were used.