New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No. 12. Op. 112. Piano score

Volume 27

Author’s arrangement for piano (four hands).
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory Article by Levon Hakobian.

Download example:

The Twelfth Symphony was first performed in the author’s arrangement for piano four hands on 8 September 1961 at the RSFSR Union of Composers by composers Boris Tchaikovsky and Mieczyslaw (Moisey) Weinberg.

This publication is based on the first edition of the piano score (Sovetsky kompozitor Publishers, Moscow,1962), collated with the author’s manuscript that is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive (rec. gr. 1, inv. 1, f. 48) and the score (D. Shostakovich, New Collected Works, Vol. 12, DSCH, Moscow, 2013). Some differences in the music text of the score and its author’s arrangement generated by the specifics of the piano texture (this applies to slurs, bowings, registers, and dynamic nuances) are retained and not given special mention.