New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No 8. Op. 65. Piano score.

Volume 23

Arranged for piano (four hands).
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory Article by Maria Karachevskaya.

Download example:

The first edition of the full score of the Eighth Symphony appeared in 1946 (Muzgiz, Moscow and Leningrad 1946). In 1948, Muzfond printed a mimeographed version of a four-hand piano arrangement done by Levon Atovmian. The edition does not indicate the author of the arrangement. Leo Mazel points to Levon Atovmian in the Guide to Shostakovich’s Symphonies (see: L. Mazel, op. cit., p. 84). An unfinished manuscript of the eight-hand arrangement of the symphony for two pianos performed by Paul Lamm has also survived (the Glinka All-Russia Museum Association of Musical Culture [VMOMK], rec. gr. 32, f. 14).