New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No. 2 “Dedication to Oсtober”. Op. 14. Score.

Volume 2

Symphony in one movement for full orchestra and S.A.T.B. chorus.
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory Article by Manashir Iakubov.

Download example:

Symphony in one movement, of five continuous sections, for full
orchestra (plus factory siren in F sharp) and S.A.T.B. chorus.

Largo, 1/4 = 152, Allegro molto, Meno mosso, and choral finale setting of Aleksandr Bezymensky’s
poem ‘To October’.


Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 B flat Clarinets,
2 Bassoons

4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba

Timpani, Triangle, Side drum, Cymbals, Bass drum

F sharp siren, Glockenspiel

S.A.T.B. chorus



Approx. 20 minutes


December 1925–June 1927, at Leningrad. A state commission received in late March 1927 to celebrate the tenth anniversary of the October Revolution.

This publication is based on the text in Collected Works (Vol. 1, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1987), which, in turn, goes back to the first edition of the symphony (Muzsektor Gosizdata Publishers, Moscow, 1927) and to the author’s manuscript of the symphony kept in the Muzgiz Foundation in the Russian State Archives of Literature and Art (rec. gr. 653, inv. 1, f. 2270). The last life-time edition of the symphony is also taken into account (1975).