New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No 15. Op. 141. Score.

Volume 15

Symphony for full orchestra in four movements.
Edited by Sergei Chebotaryov. Explanatory Article by Levon Hakobian.

Download example:


1. Allegretto
2. Adagio—Largo—Adagio—Largo attacca
3. Allegretto
4. Adagio—Allegretto—Adagio—Allegretto


Piccolo, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinets in A, 2 Bassoons
4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba
Timpani, Triangle, Castanets, Wood block, Whip, Soprano tom-tom, Side drum, Cymbals, Bass drum, Gong
Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Vibraphone, Celesta
1st Violins (16), 2nd Violins (14), Violas (12), Cellos (12), Double-basses (10)
String strength specified by the composer is not mandatory, however the numbers suggested would give the best results.


Approx.  48  min.


A  number  of  sketches  made  on  2  April  1971.  Begun  in  late June  1971  at  the  town  of  Kurgan  (east of  the  Urals)  and  completed  on 29 July 1971 at the Composer’s House, Repino.

The author’s manuscript of the score is kept in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Archive, rec. gr. 1, section 1, f. 59.
This  publication  is  based  on  the  lifetime  edition—Sovetsky  kompozitor  Publishers,  Moscow, 1972—collated with the author’s manuscript of the score and with the edition in Collected Works, Vol. 8—Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1980.