New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No 14. Op. 135. Score.

Volume 14

Symphonic song cycle for soprano soloist, bass soloist and chamber orchestra
on Verses by Federico García Lorca, Guillaume Apollinaire, Wilhelm Küchelbecker, and Rainer Maria Rilke.
Edited by Andrey Yakovlev. Explanatory Article by Levon Hakobian.

Download example:


1. De Profundis (García Lorca)—Adagio (for bass soloist)
2. Malagueña (García Lorca)—Allegretto (soprano) attacca
3. Lorelei (Apollinaire)—Allegro molto (soprano and bass) attacca
4. The Suicide (Apollinaire)—Adagio (soprano)
5. On Watch (Apollinaire)—Allegretto (soprano) attacca
6. Madam, look! (Apollinaire)—Adagio (soprano and bass) attacca
7. In prison—At the Sante Jail (Apollinaire)—Adagio (bass)
8. The Zaporozhian Cossack’s answer to the Sultan of Constantinople
(Apollinaire)—Allegro (bass) attacca
9. O Delvig, Delvig! (Küchelbecker)—Andante (bass)
10. The death of the poet (Rilke)—Largo (soprano) attacca
11. Conclusion (Rilke)—Moderato (soprano and bass)

Russian translations by I. Tynyanova (No. 1), L. Geleskul (No. 2), M.
Kudinov (Nos. 3–8), and T. Silman (Nos. 10 and 11).


Castanets, Wood block, Whip, 3 Tom-toms (soprano, alto, and tenor—1 player)

Orchestral bells, Xylophone, Vibraphone, Celesta

Soprano and Bass soloists

10 Violins, 4 Violas, 3 Cellos, 2 Five-string Doublebasses


Approx. 42 min.


Piano vocal score completed in a Moscow hospital on 16 February 1969; the full score at his Moscow apartment on 2 March 1969.


Benjamin Britten (composer). Personal score inscribed ‘To dear Benjamin Britten as a token of profound respect from a cordially devoted D. Shostakovich 1 XII 1969 Moscow’.

This publication is based on the first edition of the score put out by Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1971; it also takes into consideration the score published in Volume 8 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works by Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1980, as well as the author’s manuscript of the score and author’s corrections in the hand‑written copy of the score and in the text of the 1971 edition. In some cases, the indications given in the author’s manuscript of the piano score are taken into account.