New Collected Works Chamber Instrumental Ensembles

Dmitri Shostakovich’s String Quartets Nos. 1-3

Volume 100

Quartet No 1. Op. 49
Quartet No 2. Op. 68
Quartet No 3. Op. 73
Edited by Andrey Yakovlev. Explanatory Article by Levon Hakobian, Marina Raku.
Editor-in-chief Victor Ekimovsky.

Download example:

This edition is based on publications of the scores of the quartets by DSCH Publishers:

  • Quartet No. 1—DSCH, Moscow, 2000 (S-2000);
  • Quartet No. 2—DSCH, Moscow, 2000 (S-2000),
  • Quartet No. 3—DSCH, Moscow, 2001 (S-2001),

and publication of the scores of the quartets in Vol. 35 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works—Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1979 (S-79). It takes into account the author’s manuscripts of the scores of the quartets (A). Since many designations in A (dynamic, articulation marks, tempo, and metronome) were subsequently changed by the author in the printed editions, in some cases the copy of the score of the 1964 edition that he proofread himself (with author’s corrections) is taken into account: D. Shostakovich, Quartets, Vol. 1, Muzyka Publishers, Moscow, 1964 (S-64).
  Many of the designations in the fundamental editions (most of all in S-79) are given in square brackets: these are editorial additions and designations in A but missing in the lifetime editions. In this edition, with the use of all the above-mentioned designations, the square brackets in the text of the score have been removed, and in the comments their absence is not specified, while in cases of references to these designations in the comments, the square brackets are not mentioned.
  The scores of all three quartets in this rendition are published in separate editions:

  • Quartet No. 1—DSCH, Moscow, 2013 (S-2013),
  • Quartet No. 2—DSCH, Moscow, 2014 (S-2014),
  • Quartet No. 3—DSCH, Moscow, 2012 (S-2012).

  The insignificant changes that appeared during the editorial work on the present edition and introduced into the text after S-2012, S-2013 and S-2014 were published are specified in these comments.