New Collected Works Symphonies

Symphony No. 10. Op. 93. Score.

Volume 10

Symphony for full orchestra in four movements.
Edited by Victor Ekimovsky. Explanatory Article by Manashir Iakubov.

Download example:


1. Moderato
2. Allegro
3. Allegretto
4. Andante—Allegro


Piccolo, 2 Flutes (II = piccolo II), 2 Oboes, Cor anglais (= Oboe III), E flat Clarinet,( = Clarinet III A and B flat), 2 Clarinets (A and B flat), 2 Bassoons, Contrabassoon (= Bassoon III)

4 Horns, 3 Trumpets, 3 Trombones, Tuba

Timpani, Triangle, Tambourine, Side drum, Cymbals, Bass drum, Gong




Approx. 50 minutes


Symphony No. 10 in E minor, Op. 93, was finished in 1953. Each movement in the author’s manuscript
of the score (Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture (GSCMMC), rec. gr. 32, f. 31.) ends with the date it was completed. The score of the finale was finished on 25 October and the first movement was dated 5 August. It is customarily believed that Shostakovich began work on the symphony in the summer of 1953, but this date is not documented anywhere in the author’s manuscript.

This publication is based on the author’s manuscript of the score kept in the Glinka State Central Museum of Musical Culture (GSCMMC, rec. gr. 32, f. 31). All the lifetime Russian editions (1954, 1955, and 1960), as well as the publication of the score in Volume 5 of Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works (Muzyka, Moscow, 1979) and author’s arrangement for piano in 4 hands (Muzgiz, Moscow, 1955), are taken into account. Some clarifications are also kept in mind, in particular Shostakovich’s enharmonic substitutions of certain notes in the copy of the score the author gave to M. Weinberg (Weinberg was the editor of the mentioned volume in Dmitri Shostakovich’s Collected Works and documented these corrections by the author in the comments to the score).